Syrah with Viognier from Las Perdices in Lujan de Cuyo Mendoza

About 2 years ago I visited Carlos  Muñóz, the enologist and owner of Las Perdices winery in Mendoza. Many people remarked to me how easy my job must be since I only had to taste wines for 3-4 hours a day. That day, when I visited Carlos, stands out in my mind as one of the greatest single learning experiences about wine that I have ever gone through. We tasted from nearly every tank and nearly every barrel. And it was that day that he introduced me to a Syrah-Viognier blend that he was experimenting with.

The 93%-7% blend really makes my mouth water, now that I have tried it after its aging in the barrel and the bottle, because it combined the typical characteristics of syrah with nuances of viognier. Spice and dark fruit first present themselves on the nose but as this wine opens, a distinct tropical fruit and apricot aroma arise–certainly from the viognier.

In the mouth the great complexity, contrast, and a slightly more buttery smooth body describe this wine where a straight syrah would normally be more abrupt and aggressive.

I think this would be great with sweet and sour pork, chicken with a tropical fruit sauce, or perhaps a lamb or chicken with chutney.

Espectacular!

Leave a Reply

